I’m back – with four books!

It has been a long while since we conversed dear Reader, and for that I am sorry. Life has, as the old saying goes, got in the way.

There feels much to tell you about certain personal experiences that have lead me back to put pen to paper (or rather fingers to keyboard), but for now, I wish for my next piece of writing to be about the books and lives I have enjoyed delving into recently.

I have had a lot of time to myself since Easter (again for reasons which I shall write about when ready), and I have found my best, most effective form of relaxation is escaping with a good book. This won’t come as a surprise considering previous blogs, but it certainly has been a magnificent form of mindfulness and escapism.

So here are the famous four that have kept me entertained, and a brief review of each.

Do You Think That’s Wise? The Life of John Le Mesurier by Graham McCann

Dad’s Army is my all time favourite sitcom. Simple yet brilliant comedy which shall never grow old, unlike it’s marvellous cast of lovable characters.

John Le Mesurier has always intrigued me, mainly due to his infamous marriage to the equally fabulous Hattie Jacques. I always thought their pairing was intriguing – two people who I wouldn’t put together but as this book demonstrates, John’s love for Hattie was enduring and forever hopeful regardless of the situation they found themselves in as a couple.

I generally prefer autobiographies to biographies – I prefer to read the subject’s own words and not someone else’s which will undoubtedly have their own opinions sneak in, or perhaps even the odd fabrication as parts will be unknown to anyone but the subject themselves. However, I found myself wanting to keep on going as I galloped through John’s life.

The beautifully portrayed Arthur Wilson is in fact a depiction of John Le Mesurier himself – calm, suave and sophisticated. Floating along each day, spending his leisure hours merely relaxing with a glass of the good stuff in a sophisticated club. (Oh the dream!)

His personal life was deeply troubled and I couldn’t help but feel immensely sorry for the chap. He had so much love to give, and so much loyal love to give, but in his two marriages, he was severely tested and utterly betrayed.

Unbeknown to me, even though he is largely famous for his role in Dad’s Army, he actually didn’t have many other significant roles. Everyone knew the name John Le Mesurier, but many of his parts were very much “bit” parts. Appearing for just two to three minutes sometimes, yet he still managed to earn a beautiful and renowned name for himself.

John’s belief were the most two important phrases in the English language are “please” and “thank you”, which is something I have been brought up on and utterly agree with.

So dear Reader, if John is someone you wish to know more about, please do pick up this biography, and thank you, John, for your marvellous work.

A Column of Fire by Ken Follett

One of my all time favourite authors. Pillars of the Earth remains at my number one spot for my favourite book of all time.

This novel continues from Pillars of the Earth and World Without End, with various references to the much loved characters. However, it is not a necessity to have read either of these. I read Pillars of the Earth so long ago, there was no chance I was remembering every detail!

The book follows various characters throughout the reign of Elizabeth I and slightly beyond, Ned Willard being our constant, and our hero.

Following the lives around the globe from Spain to the New World, amongst the religious uncertainty and persecution at the time, you never fail to be gripped by everyone’s story as to how they navigate their lives from love to hatred, loyalty to betrayal, life to death.

Ken Follett – my hat goes off to you. You’ve still got that top spot.

Lamentation by C J Sansom

Closely behind Ken Follett (and when I say close, I mean it’s near enough nose to nose) comes C J Sansom. His series of books following Shardlake, the hunchback lawyer are engrossing, enthralling and wonderfully captivating. This is the sixth book in the series and does not disappoint.

Shardlake is summoned to help Queen Catherine Parr, as a damaging heretical document entitled ‘Lamentation’ has gone missing. At a time of huge religious upheaval and uncertainty, it is imperative they find the document, facing any dangers across the way.

Shardlake is, as usual, accompanied by his trusty sidekick Barak, and also new accomplice, the young gentleman Nicholas, who is in for a surprise when he realises he won’t just be a boring lawyer’s clerk.

The novel is filled with suspense, intrigue and thrill along the way as they do in all of the Shardlake novels, along with interspersing story lines which are not difficult to keep track of as C J Sansom always so beautifully demonstrates.

The Shardlake novels, knowing there are a few out there, can be a bit like a detective TV series – you know the main character isn’t going to die. We don’t know what will happen to him, and it’s never smooth sailing, but as there is another book after this one, we know our hero will somehow manage to scrape through any terrifying ordeals. But, what is always filled with suspense is what will happen to the characters around him. No one is safe from C J Sansom’s writings and I somehow always manage to find myself shocked and sometimes wanting to cry (I get way too involved with characters!).

If you like C J Sansom, and have not yet got to this one, I somehow don’t think you will disappointed.

The Last Tudor by Philippa Gregory

The content of this book was not what I was expecting. I don’t always like to read blurbs. If I know the author and I know the period they are writing about, I 99% of the time know I will enjoy it and don’t wish anything to spoil it, which sometimes can happen due to a blurb. If I had read it, I may have not been surprised to learn that this is not told from Elizabeth I’s eyes. In fact, the novel is separated into three parts by the three Grey sisters – Jane, Katherine and Mary.

Admittedly, although I knew a lot about Jane’s life, I knew very little about Katherine and Mary and this is why this book fast became one I had to continue reading. I have read many books about Elizabeth I, and many from her eyes, or directly involving her. To read the book from the eyes and opinions of the three girls was very different and compelling.

I’ve always had an admiration for Elizabeth I – daughter of one of the most notorious of Henry VIII’s wives, Anne Boleyn, yet she became one of our longest reigning and most successful monarchs, not least known for successfully fending off all threats from across Europe and closer to home.

However, the shocking treatment of the Grey family surprised me, and cast a different light, almost a shadow onto one of my most loved monarchs.

I’ve always believed, like many others, Lady Jane Grey was so unfairly treated and one of the saddest tales of all time. One you can’t really make up. This also goes for her sisters. They spend most of their lives imprisoned for committing one and only crime – marrying the ones they love.

Admittedly, I do feel as the sisters spent so much time in captivity, the book can sometimes become a tad repetitive. There is only so much you can say when your primary focuses are locked up! However, Philippa Gregory in her brilliance keeps the novel going and has captured the minds and souls of these girls in a beauty and interest that I found myself becoming deeply involved in.

The absolute beauty of history dear Reader: forget your high budget, fantastical films – history and real life is something so fascinating, so intriguing, so full of lies, deceit and passion, you really just can’t make it up.

2 thoughts on “I’m back – with four books!

  1. Julie Hart

    Emily, I really enjoy reading your blogs, you have a wonderful way with words. We do seem to have a lot in common with loving dads army. I watch the episodes on Gold over and over and never get bored. The characters are all unique and John Le Mesurier is a favourite. I think I’ll get his book sounds interesting. I remember Hattie as welll. Love the Tudors as well. X

    Like

Leave a comment